A Year of Adventure

One day I was driving my usual commute, and discovered a car accident was blocking my exit from the highway.  In a slight panic, because I had left at the last possible minute of course, I was asking Siri for new directions to work.  Now there are multiple routes I can take, and I do switch it up frequently since I have a 40 minute commute everyday.  I thought I had taken all of them, and honestly was surprised when Siri suggested a new route.  Good ‘ol Siri, to the rescue.

Siri took me farther down the highway, and had me turn on BB highway.  This took me past the Tiger Sanctuary.  I’ve always wanted to go there, I thought to myself as I was driving to work.  I started to think about how there are probably lots of cool things I haven’t done in my area, even though I’ve lived here for 16 years (whoa…) now.

I love new adventures.  In fact, I love it so much some times I struggle with being content with the everyday.  I long to travel the open road, try new foods, explore museums, and discover the unexpected.  But sometimes I need to be reminded that there are grand adventures right here in our corner of the Ozarks.  So I decided right then and there as I was driving my new route to work, my New Years resolution for 2017 was going to try something new in our area at least once a month.

My rules for my resolution:

  1. It has to be something brand new for me, my husband, and my kids.
  2. I has to be in our area or within a weekend excursion trip.
  3. I will record each of our adventures in my new blog
  4. It can by anything new such as a museum, festival, restaurant, etc.

So there’s my plan.  Here’s to a new year of adventures, of local foods,  of wanderlust, of the unexpected, and a renewed appreciation of our Ozarks.

 

 

Leave a Reply

